"The sparkling but serene Sevenoaks Bookshop" - The Telegraph
 

Shop Products

Continue Shopping

Where The World Turns Wild by Nicola Penfold

£6.99

Available

Description

Animals trees flowers our city forbids them all… Juniper Greene lives in a walled city from which nature has been banished following the outbreak of a deadly man-made disease many years earlier. While most people seem content to live in such a cage she and her little brother Bear have always known about their resistance to the disease and dream of escaping into the wild. To the one place humans have survived outside of cities. To where their mother is. When scientists discover that the siblings provide the key to fighting the disease the pair must flee for their lives. As they journey into the unknown they soon learn that there’s cruelty in nature as well as beauty. Will they ever find the home they’re searching for? A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from a fresh new voice in children’s fiction. Perfect for fans of THE EXPLORER THE LAST WILD and THE ISLAND AT THE END OF EVERYTHING. “Some books are excellent story-telling and some books broaden your knowledge and mind and some just ought to be written and this book is all three. I loved it.” – Hilary McKay author of THE SKYLARKS’ WAR “WHERE THE WORLD TURNS WILD is a journey between extremes of grey and green propelled by a bold and timely concept and written with sharp intelligent prose. A truly heartfelt and very striking novel.” – Darren Simpson author of SCAVENGERS “A beautiful memorable story about all the important things – love family loyalty and courage – contained inside a brilliant adventure WHERE THE WORLD TURNS WILD can’t fail to enthrall any reader lucky enough to encounter it.” – Sinead O’Hart author of THE EYE OF THE NORTH and THE STAR-SPUN WEB “Wondrous warm-hearted wildly exhilarating […] The world is familiar and frightening the relationships between characters beautifully rendered – Nicola Penfold is an author to watch.” – Nizrana Farook author of THE GIRL WHO STOLE AN ELEPHANT “This novel packs a powerful punch. It calls on the ‘wild’ in all of us through the characters of these two brave children. We cannot help being drawn in by their epic struggle.” – Cath Howe author of ELLA ON THE OUTSIDE “It is extraordinary! This compelling book has future classic written all over it!” – Lindsay Galvin author of THE SECRET DEEP

Additional information

Dimensions 198 × 129 mm
Attribute Value 1

Paperback

Join the waiting list We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Your Basket

Cart is empty