"The sparkling but serene Sevenoaks Bookshop" - The Telegraph
 

Shop Products

Continue Shopping

The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth by Katherine Woodfine

£6.99

Available

Description

A fast-paced historical mystery adventure for readers aged 9+ with gorgeous Edwardian period detail. Perfect for fans of Chris Riddell Enid Blyton and Robin Stevens. The follow up to Katherine Woodfine’s bestselling debut novel The Clockwork Sparrow. THE HONOUR OF YOUR COMPANY IS REQUESTED AT LORD BEAUCASTLE’S FANCY DRESS BALL. Wonder at the puzzling disappearance of the Jewelled Moth! Marvel as our heroines Sophie and Lil don cunning disguises mingle in high society and munch many cucumber sandwiches to solve this curious case! Applaud their bravery as they follow a trail of terrible secrets that leads straight to London’s most dangerous criminal mastermind and could put their own lives at risk . . . It will be the most thrilling event of the season! The Jewelled Moth is the second book in the Sinclair’s Mysteries quartet which is perfect for fans of Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls and M G Leonard’s Beetle Boy. The other books are The Clockwork Sparrow and The Painted Dragon. And look out for the thrilling conclusion in The Midnight Peacock coming in October! *** Cover and interior illustrations by Julia Sarda. Praise for The Clockwork Sparrow: ‘A wonderful book with a glorious heroine and a true sprit of adventure’ – Katherine Rundell author of Rooftoppers `A real page-turner it has murders spies and gangs of thieves. Thrilling!’ – Indiana aged 10 LoveReadingforKids reviewer ‘Dastardliness on a big scale is uncovered in this well-plotted evocative novel’ – Nicolette Jones The Sunday Times ‘It’s a dashing plot an atmospheric setting and an extensive and imaginative cast. Katherine Woodfine handles it all with aplomb’ – Julia Eccleshare Guardian ‘An incredible read full of mystery wonder and adventure…This is now one of my top ten.’ – Celeste age 13 LoveReading4Kids reviewer The first book in the Sinclair’s Mystery series The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize in 2016. Katherine Woodfine is a true champion of children’s literature. Until 2015 she was Arts Project Manager for Booktrust where she project-managed the Children’s Laureateship and YALC the UK’s first Young Adult Literature Convention curated by Malorie Blackman. She is part of the founding team at Down the Rabbit Hole a monthly show for Resonance FM discussing children’s literature. Katherine blogs at followtheyellow.co.uk. She lives in London.

Additional information

Weight 329 g
Dimensions 198 × 128 × 25 mm
Attribute Value 1

Paperback

Join the waiting list We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Your Basket

Cart is empty