"The sparkling but serene Sevenoaks Bookshop" - The Telegraph
 

Shop Products

Continue Shopping

The Mercies by Hargrave, Kiran Millwood

£14.99

Available

ISBN: 9781529005103 Category: Tags: , , ,

Description

The Sunday Times Bestseller and BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 2020 For readers of Circe and The Handmaid’s Tale Kiran Millwood Hargrave’s The Mercies is a story about how suspicion can twist its way through a community and about a love that could prove as dangerous as it is powerful. Winter 1617. The sea around the remote Norwegian island of Vardo is thrown into a reckless storm. A young woman Maren watches as the men of the island out fishing perish in an instant. Vardo is now a place of women. Eighteen months later a sinister figure arrives. Summoned from Scotland to take control of a place at the edge of the civilized world Absalom Cornet knows what he needs to do to bring the women of the island to heel. With him travels his young wife Ursa. In her new home and in Maren Ursa finds something she has never seen before: independent women. But Absalom sees only a place flooded with a terrible evil one he must root out at all costs . . . ‘Beautiful and chilling’ Madeline Miller author of Circe ‘Took my breath away’ Tracy Chevalier author of Girl with a Pearl Earring

Additional information

Weight 461 g
Dimensions 216 × 135 × 29 mm
Cover

Hardback

Join the waiting list We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Your Basket

Cart is empty