Poems of the Decade: An Anthology of the Forward Books of Poetry by Publishing Forward


Available – Ready for despatch or collection within 5 - 7 days

ISBN: 9780571325405 Category: Tags: ,


Agbabi Armitage Burnside Duffy Dunmore Fanthorpe Heaney Motion Nagra O’Brien and more Poems of the Decade brings together more than one hundred poems from the many thousands submitted to the Forward Prizes for Poetry in the first decade of the 21st century. The Forwards are among the world’s most coveted poetry honours. They have been awarded annually since 1992 for the Best Collection Best First Collection and Best Single Poem published in Britain and Ireland and the roster of winning shortlisted and highly commended poets regularly juxtaposes familiar canonical names with fresh voices. This anthology of anthologies draws on the ten Forward Books of Poetry published to accompany the prizes between 2001 and 2010. It is the perfect introduction to a wide range of contemporary poetry: works that speak of violence danger and fear of love and all that opposes love in forms of language broken and reshaped by the need to communicate what it is to be alive now here. ‘These annual anthologies of the poems in the running for the Forward Prizes remain the best way of encountering the richness that new poetry has to offer.’ Daily Telegraph

Additional information

Weight 271 g
Dimensions 216 × 135 × 15 mm