"The sparkling but serene Sevenoaks Bookshop" - The Telegraph
 

Shop Products

Continue Shopping

Investigation by Jung myung Lee

£7.99

Available

ISBN: 9781447228257 Category: Tags: ,

Description

Longlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize Fukuoka Prison 1944. Beyond the prison walls the war rages; inside a man is found brutally murdered. Yuichi Watanabe a young guard with a passion for reading is ordered to investigate. The victim Sugiyama – also a guard – was feared and despised throughout the prison and inquiries have barely begun when a powerful inmate confesses. But Watanabe is unconvinced; and as he interrogates both the suspect and Yun Dong-ju a talented Korean poet he begins to realise that the fearsome guard was not all he appeared to be . . . As Watanabe unravels Sugiyama’s final months he begins to discover what is really going on inside this dark and violent institution which few inmates survive: a man who will stop at nothing to dig his way to freedom; a governor whose greed knows no limits; a little girl whose kite finds her an unlikely friend. And Yun Dong-ju – the poet whose works hold such beauty they can break the hardest of hearts. As the war moves towards its devastating close and bombs rain down upon the prison Watanabe realises that he must find a way to protect Yun Dong-ju no matter what it takes. This decision will lead the young guard back to the investigation – where he will discover a devastating truth . . . At once a captivating mystery and an epic lament for lost freedom and humanity in the darkest of times The Investigation – inspired by a true story – is a sweeping gripping tale perfect for fans of The Shadow of the Wind.

Additional information

Weight 270 g
Dimensions 197 × 131 × 24 mm
Cover

Paperback

Join the waiting list We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Your Basket

Cart is empty