"The sparkling but serene Sevenoaks Bookshop" - The Telegraph
 

Shop Products

Continue Shopping

Exciting Times by Naoise Dolan

£14.99

Available

Description

‘The book of the summer … Kept me rapt until the final page’ THE TIMES ‘A sharp smart witty modern love story. I loved it’ David Nicholls author of ONE DAY ‘More than lives up to the hype … Likely to fill the Sally-Rooney-shaped hole in many readers’ lives’ IRISH TIMES ‘Droll shrewd and unafraid – a winning debut’ Hilary Mantel author of WOLF HALL ‘I’ve been pushing Exciting Times on everyone I know. Some of Dolan’s pithy observations of her characters are the best I’ve read since Edward St Aubyn’ OBSERVER ‘A frankly sensational book’ Pandora Sykes on THE HIGH LOW ‘In the tradition of Dorothy Parker Joan Rivers and Nora Ephron … I found myself purring with pleasure. …This is comic writing at the highest level’ Craig Brown DAILY MAIL When you leave Ireland aged 22 to spend your parents’ money it’s called a gap year. When Ava leaves Ireland aged 22 to make her own money she’s not sure what to call it but it involves: – a badly-paid job in Hong Kong teaching English grammar to rich children; – Julian who likes to spend money on Ava and lets her move into his guest room; – Edith who Ava meets while Julian is out of town and actually listens to her when she talks; – money love cynicism unspoken feelings and unlikely connections. Exciting times ensue.

Additional information

Attribute Value 1

Hardback

Your Basket

Cart is empty