"The sparkling but serene Sevenoaks Bookshop" - The Telegraph
 

Online Events

Online Events

As we can’t gather together in large groups, we’re bringing brilliant authors and books to you, in the comfort of your own homes!

Victoria Hislop

Wednesday 28 October, 7.30pm

Online event, tickets include a signed copy of One August Night.

Join us on Zoom for a special online event with Victoria Hislop as she introduces her new novel, One August Night, the long awaited follow-up to The Island.

Details of how to access the Zoom event will be emailed to registered attendees the day before the event. You do not need to come to the shop to pick up a ticket, but at the checkout do select whether you want to collect the book or to pay for delivery.

About One August Night:

25th August 1957. The island of Spinalonga closes its leper colony. And a moment of violence has devastating consequences.

When time stops dead for Maria Petrakis and her sister, Anna, two families splinter apart and, for the people of Plaka, the closure of Spinalonga is forever coloured with tragedy.

In the aftermath, the question of how to resume life looms large. Stigma and scandal need to be confronted and somehow, for those impacted, a future built from the ruins of the past.


Nydia Hetherington

Tuesday 10 November, 8pm

At Sevenoaks Bookshop we love to feature and support debut novelists. This year many brilliant debut novels will not have received the attention they deserve so this is more important to us than ever. We loved this book and can’t wait to share it with you!

Online event, tickets include a copy of A Girl Made of Air.
Join us on Zoom to hear Nydia Hetherington talking about her beautiful intoxicating debut novel, A Girl Made of Air.

Details of how to access the Zoom event will be emailed to registered attendees the day before the event. You do not need to come to the shop to pick up a ticket, but at the checkout do select whether you want to collect the book or to pay for delivery.

About A Girl Made of Air:

Haunted by an incident in which a child was lost from the circus, our narrator, a tightrope artiste, weaves together her spellbinding tales of circus legends, earthy magic and folklore. A Girl Made of Air brings the circus to life in all of its grime and glory; Marina, Manu, Serendipity Wilson, Fausto, Big Gen and Mouse will live long in the hearts of readers. As will this story of loss and reconciliation, of storytelling and truth.

For fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern.

About the author:

Originally from Leeds, Nydia Hetherington moved to London in her twenties to embark on an acting career. Later she moved to Paris where she studied at the Jacques Lecoq theatre school before creating her own theatre company. When she returned to London, she completed a creative writing degree at Birkbeck.

Previous Events

Ruth Jones

Wednesday 23 September 7.30pm

We were SO excited about our event with Ruth Jones in the Stag and then equally disappointed when events forced us to have to cancel. So we’re especially pleased that whilst we won’t be able to meet Ruth in person, we will now be able to have an online event with her!

Us Three comes with a bookplate signed by Ruth Jones.

Attendance of the online online event is included with the purchase of Us Three as a Book and Ticket, or there is a Ticket Only option.

Ruth will answer questions from those attending the event – but these must be submitted in advance and she may not be able to answer all questions. If you would like to ask a question please also add that to the Order Note when you checkout the book.
Ruth will be interviewed by journalist and author Hannah Beckerman (author of If Only I Could Tell You).
About Us Three:
A funny, moving and uplifting novel about life’s complications, the power of friendship and how it defines us all, from Ruth Jones, co-writer of Gavin and Stacey and author of the smash-hit, number one bestselling debut, Never Greener.

Meet Lana, Judith and Catrin. Best friends since primary school when they swore an oath on a Curly Wurly wrapper that they would always be there for each other, come what may.

After the trip of a lifetime, the three girls are closer than ever. But an unexpected turn of events shakes the foundation of their friendship to its core, leaving their future in doubt – there’s simply too much to forgive, let alone forget. An innocent childhood promise they once made now seems impossible to keep . . .

Packed with all the heart and empathy that made Ruth’s name as a screenwriter and now author, Us Three is a funny, moving and uplifting novel about life’s complications, the power of friendship and how it defines us all. Prepare to meet characters you’ll feel you’ve known all your life – prepare to meet Us Three.

‘A touching celebration of the beauty and endurance of female friendship.’ Dawn French

‘I loved this brilliantly gripping depiction of the complexities of female friendship over the years. Love, betrayal, comedy and loss – Us Three has it all.’ Fiona Neill

‘A warm, smart, uplifting tale of true friendship.’ Beth O’Leary, author of The Flatshare and The Switch

‘This novel oozes warmth and honesty. A big-hearted book that provides a cast of characters you’ll lose your heart to.’ Adele Parks, author of Lies, Lies, Lies and Just My Luck

Tuesday 21 July 8pm

Rachel Joyce

The author of bestselling and much-loved books such as The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy and The Music Shop.

“I loved The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, but Miss Benson’s Beetle is even better. The characters have a richness and depth that drew me into their story immediately. And what characters! This book is far more than an unexpected adventure, it’s a beautiful portrayal of female friendship in all its frailties, contradictions and strengths. It made me think we all have the power to be so much more than we imagine when we cut the chains of expectation. I actually feel as if I’ve just lost a positive, powerful friend – I’m cut adrift, I haven’t been so immersed in a novel for years” Raynor Winn, author of The Salt Path

We have a limited number of signed copies that will include a handwritten postcard from Rachel.

Tuesday 30 June at 8pm (GMT)

Lily King

New York Times bestselling author Lily King. We feel incredibly lucky and so thrilled about this! Lily’s last UK published novel Euphoria is an incredible book. It was a Sevenoaks Bookshop bestseller – a real word of mouth hit among our customers because of the sheer quality of Lily’s writing. If you haven’t already read it – do so now!

Lily discussed her new novel, Writers and Lovers, a tale of art, love and ambition, all told with such exquisite consideration, certain sentences and images clean take your breath away.

‘Lily King is one of our great literary treasures and Writers & Lovers is suffused with her brilliance. It is captivating, potent, incisive, and wise, a moving story of grief, and recovering from grief, and of a young woman finding her courage for life’. Madeline Miller, author of Circe

“Writers & Lovers made me happy. Even as the narrator grieves the loss of her mother and struggles to make art and keep a roof over her head, the novel is suffused with hopefulness and kindness. Lily King writes with a great generosity of spirit.” Ann Patchett

 “I loved this book not just from the first chapter or the first page but from the first paragraph… The voice is just so honest and riveting and insightful about creativity and life.” Curtis Sittenfeld, London Evening Standard

“Delightful… An unmistakable broadside against fiction’s love affair with macho strivers, even — or especially — when layers of lyricism and tenderness coat their machismo. The emotional force of Writers & Lovers is considerable.” New York Times Book Review

You can watch the full length recording of our event with Lily here:

Benjamin Myers

Tuesday 26 May 8pm

Benjamin Myers introduced his new novel, The Offing.

The Offing is absolutely a book to read now – filled with hope and love and the joys of reading and writing. Set in the aftermath of WWII, it is the story of a young man setting out on a walking adventure for the summer, before returning to his home town to start a job in a mine. It’s about England, the North, nature, the sea and a life-changing encounter with a woman he meets on his travels. For anyone reading our current bookclub book, One Fine Day, it is a great companion read.

‘…the book recalls JL Carr’s A Month in the Country Myers’s sensitive portrayal of an emotionally mature man looking back at a single life-changing summer is as quietly gripping as Carr’s novella.’
The Guardian

‘What a radical thing, these days, to have written a book so full of warmth and kindness… Gorgeous’
Max Porter, author of Lanny

You can watch the full length recording of our chat with Benjamin here:

Chiddingstone Castle Virtual Literary Festival

Podcast series now live!

Sadly the Festival will not be taking place at the Castle this year but the organisers have arranged a brilliant series of recorded interviews which will be available from Saturday 9 May, and we can deliver the authors’ books direct to you. More information…

Join the waiting list We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Your Basket

Cart is empty