Children’s Shop

Lots of books waiting patiently, hopefully, expectantly, on our bookshelves – hoping to be chosen by you! Not sure what exactly which book you fancy? Scroll down below and be inspired by some of our favourites…

Or you can: Search Products… to find a particular book or Select a Category to find all books of the same type.

Some of Our Favourite New Books

Board Books – Picture Books – Stories for 5-8 Year Olds – Stories for 9-12 Year Olds – Teen Fiction – Blue Peter Book Award Winners – Great Books for 9-12 Year Olds About… – Black Lives & Writers


Board Books

Great new books for babies and toddlers

All Board Books

Back to top of shop


Picture Books

Snuggle up, squidge in close, time to read together…

All Picture Books

Back to top of shop


Stories for 5-8 Year Olds

All Stories for 5-8 Year Olds

Back to top of shop


Stories for 9-12 Year Olds

All Stories for 9-12 Year Olds

Back to top of shop


Teen Fiction

All Teen Fiction

Back to top of shop


Blue Peter Book Awards 2021 – the Winners!

Best Story

The award for Best Story was awarded to A Kind of Spark, the brilliant debut novel by Elle McNicoll.

Offering an utterly convincing and honest narrative voice, A Kind of Spark challenges the stereotypes that can be associated with autism, and teaches us that there are ‘many different ways to be autistic.’

A Kind of Spark tells the story of 11-year-old Addie as she campaigns for a memorial in memory of the witch trials that took place in her Scottish hometown. Addie knows there’s more to the story of these ‘witches’, just like there is more to hers. Can Addie challenge how the people in her town see her, and her autism, and make her voice heard? A story about friendship, courage and self-belief, perfect for fans of The Goldfish Boy.

Best Book with Facts

The award for Best Book with Facts went to Mike Barfield and illustrator Jess Bradley’s hilarious book,  A Day In The Life Of A Poo, A Gnu And You.  

If you’ve ever wanted to know what a panda does all day long, how your heart manages to shift all that blood around your body or what makes a rainbow shine, you’ve come to the right book.

A Day in the Life of a Poo, a Gnu and You features the answers to all of these questions and many more, all told in a super-fun comic book format in three awesome sections: Human Body, Animal Kingdom and Earth and Science. A Day in the Life… is packed with facts, laughs and amazing illustrations you can dive into all day long.

Meet your grumpy liver that has to do practically EVERYTHING; your trusty hands that are very, well, handy; the spiky porcupines ready to charge; lonely Mars rovers abandoned on the Red Planet; raging tornadoes ready to rip through the pages of the book and bubbly volcanoes ready to blow.

All entries are told in the fun, friendly and informative style of Mike Barfield, and are brought to life by the colour-explosion of Jess Bradley’s awesome illustrations.

Back to top of shop


Great Books for 9-12 Year Olds About…

Dragons

Horses

Sporty Kids

Funny Things

Mysteries

Superpowers

Sci Fi

Kids at War

Spooky Things

Normal Life

Back to top of shop


Celebrating Black Lives and Black Writers

A selection of books chosen from the children’s shelves in the bookshop, browse, buy, read and share their stories…

Picture Books

Fiction

Non-fiction

Back to top of shop


Use Search Products… to find a particular book or Select a Category to find all books of the same type.

To the grown up’s bookshop…